My House is in Detox

My trial and error journey into natural, non-toxic cleaners that actually work.

Floor steam cleaners? June 10, 2009

Filed under: My posts — Tamara @ 9:11 pm
Tags: , , , ,

I’ve been drooling after those floor steamers that seem to work like magic on tv. The first one I saw was the H2O mop and I thought, wow, how cool! But after I read the reviews, I was less enthousiastic. I’ve seen a few others since, some on infomercials, and our local trade show had one being demonstrated (Though for the life of me I can’t remember the name of it). To me it seems the ultimate in non-toxic cleaning. Does anyone know how well they work???

I was also looking at hand held steam cleaners. I really wish I had money for those 2 things at the moment, especially for our hard water build up that nothing natural, not even vinegar, seems to help. Then there’s the sterilizing aspect of it, which I must admit is EXTREMELY appealing to someone who has a toddler who likes to stick her hand in her poopy pants, among other disgusting things. LMBO, it’s a good thing she’s so cute ;).

 

2 Responses to “Floor steam cleaners?”

  1. Nick Says:

    They work great, and will suck out lots of filth from your carpets. you can rent them at Lowe’s and other hardware bigbox stores, just don’t purchase the soap they recommend, use your own favorite organic biodegradable nontoxic soap, like dr bonners.

  2. housedetox Says:

    Yes, we do have a carpet steam cleaner. I love it, especially with 4 kids it has come in handy more times than I can count. I’ve heard vinegar works well instead of soap too.

    I was thinking though more along the lines of something like the H20 mop (better quality though). I have wood, vinyl and tile in my house and getting them clean is awful because they each require a different technique. I’ve heard those steam mops work on anything. Do they really get grout clean? I hate grout.


Leave a comment