My House is in Detox

My trial and error journey into natural, non-toxic cleaners that actually work.

Homemade Laundry Detergent November 28, 2012

I was looking around on Pinterest and found this recipe for DIY Laundry Detergent . I wonder if anyone has tried it? Your feedback would be appreciated. I’m not able to test this myself right now as I’m living with my parents for a few months while my house is being built. I’ll have to make 2 mixes though – not a fan of using fabric softener in every single load – doesn’t mix with my microfibre cleaning cloths (which, BTW, are still awesome!) I may have to try finding a different soap to use too – no Fels Naptha or Zote that I’ve seen where I live, but maybe Sunlight soap (in the laundry aisle) or something more natural will work.

I’ve made my own laundry detergent before and you can read about it here. Eventually I had to stop because of the insane amount of soap scum build up everywhere – but that was when I lived in an area with extremely hard water. I now live in an area with softer water and will probably be getting a water softener in my new house, so I really want to try making my own detergent again.

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.